Tourism Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Tourism Advisory Committee is to advise the Tourism Director, City Manager and City Council concerning issues related to the marketing of the City. The Seaside Tourism Director and General Manager of the Seaside Civic and Convention Center shall be staff liaisons to the Committee. The Committee shall consist of five members none of whom are employees of the City of Seaside. One must be a resident of Seaside while the remaining four shall be residents, or owners, or employees of business within the Seaside City limits. Nominees shall be recommended to the Council for appointment and preference given to the following:

  1. Representative from the Seaside Chamber of Commerce
  2. Representative from the Downtown Development Association
  3. Representative from the lodging businesses
  4. Representative from the restaurant or catering industry
  5. Representative from the at large who resides within the Seaside City limits

All members shall serve for a term of three years. Any portion of a term exceeding one-half the period of the term shall be considered a term.

Each year, at the first meeting of the Committee, the members shall appoint one of their members as Chairperson and one as Vice-Chairperson. One of the Committee members will serve as Secretary. Minutes of all meetings will be filed with the City Council.

The committee shall hold a regular meeting at least once each month of the calendar year. The committee may at any regular or special meeting cancel one of the monthly meetings, and/or may change the location site. The meeting shall be open to the public. Any person appointed by the City Council to serve on this committee who misses three or more regularly scheduled meetings during a 12 month period shall be notified by letter that the position must be vacated. The individual may appeal the decision to the City Council. (A 12 month period is defined as beginning in January of each calendar year.)

Term: 3 years

Number of Members: 5

Committee Members

NameTitleAddressPhone NumberTerm Expires
Keith Chandler


200 N. Prom

(503) 440-4040


Linda Wyss


1998 Huckleberry Dr.

(503) 717-0292


Marci Utti


1423 S. Franklin

(503) 440-1018


Sadie Mercer


580 Beach Dr. #4

(541) 513-1781


Ruth Swenson

Vice Chair

P.O. Box 1006

(503) 738-6273