Planning Commission

The purpose of the Seaside Planning Commission is to recommend and make suggestions to the Council and to other public authorities concerning the laying out, widening, extending and locating of public thoroughfares, the parking of vehicles, the relief of traffic congestion, betterment of housing and sanitation conditions, and the establishment of districts for limiting the use, height, area, bulk and other characteristics of buildings and structures related to land development. The Planning Commission is to recommend to the Council and other public authorities plans for regulating the future growth, development and beautification of the city with respect to its public and private buildings and works, streets, parks, ground and vacant lots, and plans consistent with future growth and development of the city in order to secure to the city and its inhabitants sanitation, proper service of public utilities, including appropriate public incentives for overall energy conservation, and plans for shipping and transportation facilities.

The Commission consists of seven members who are not officials or employees of the city and who will be appointed by the Mayor, subject to the approval of the City Council, A minimum of five members shall reside within the city limits; a maximum of two members may reside within the urban growth boundary, but outside the city limits. All members shall serve for a term of four years. A Planning Commissioner's term of office shall commence on the first day of November of the first year of his or her term.

Each year, at the first Commission meeting in Janurary, the members shall appoint one of their members as Chairperson and one as Vice-Chairperson.

No more than two members of the Commission may engage principally in the buying, selling or development of real estate for profit as individuals, or be members of any partnership, or officers or employees of any corporation, which engages principally in the buying, selling or developing of real estate for profit.

The Commission shall hold a regular meeting on the first Tuesday of each month of the calendar year. The meetings shall be open to the public. Any person appointed to serve on this Commission who misses three or more regularly scheduled meetings during a 12-month period shall be notified by letter that the position must be vacated. The individual may appeal the decision to the City Council. (A 12-month period is defined as beginning in January of each calendar year.)

The members shall serve without salary or compensation of any nature.

Term of Office: 4 years

Members: 7

Ex-Officio Members: Mayor, City Attorney, City Manager, City Engineer, Code Enforcement Officer

Commission Members

NameTitleAddressPhoneTerm Expires
Chris Hoth


420 Avenue I

(503) 738-7861


Jon Wickersham


780 6th Ave.

(503) 440-4816


Robin Montero

Vice Chair

2471 Sunset Blvd.

(206) 852-1810


Louis Neubecker


1859 Broadway

(503) 717-0153


Teri Carpenter


220 Avenue U

(425) 246-9962


Kathy Kleczek


2080 Aldercrest

(503) 440-3232


Christopher Rose


930 13th Avenue

(503) 440-0764